Chocolate Chunk Birthday Cake – The best and easiest birthday cake you can make at home.



Three of my four children have the worst birth dates. The twins were born 3 days before Christmas, and the youngest was born on Labor Day weekend. They never get a good turnout for their birthday parties, so we try to have something for them on a more acceptable date. This past weekend was the date we chose for their birthday party. The youngest had a few of her friends and the twins had several of their friends join us for a fun night.

I love birthday parties because I have an excuse to bake. I know that I can always find an excuse to bake, but parties give me an excuse to bake AND cook. It’s a beautiful thing! My oldest daughter always asks for the same thing…cookie cake. What’s not to love about a cake that’s a cookie?! Not only is it delicious, it’s very easy to make. Stop paying the $10 at the grocery store to buy these cakes. Make them yourself for a fraction of the cost. The only upside to buying these at a store is that they will decorate them for you. As you can see, my decorating skills are very, very poor. The little, lime green blobs were the best I could do.

Decorating attempts from previous years haven’t turned out much better (see pics below).



Apparently I decided to start the “B” for “Birthday” in the middle of the cake, so I had to write “Bday” instead. This was last year’s cake, so I can laugh about it now.



I have given up on being able to decorate a cake. Check out the pan of brownies in the background.



This was one of the worst decorating jobs I have ever done. I’m not even sure what I had going on with this one. I will let you, and all of the party goers, in on a little secret. That pan of brownies was gluten-free AND they came from a box….GASP! Don’t tell anyone. As a crazy foodie, this is a huge embarrassment. But, the hubby always gets left out of the baked good at birthday parties, so I made something he could eat as well. No one had a clue that they were gluten free because I loaded them up with extra chocolate. And, with my stellar decorating job, they were irresistible.

My little sous chef asked for a simple chocolate cake with chocolate icing. So, of course, I made a rootbeer cake with rootbeer icing. Um, mom doesn’t listen very well. It actually tasted ok, but the icing was ugly. It really wasn’t a hit at the party, so I won’t bother posting the recipe or any pics. I was kinda disappointed, but I don’t think anyone else cared.

I am posting the recipe for the cookie cake. All of the kids and the adults loved this cake. I hope you enjoy making and eating it at your next birthday party.



Chocolate Chunk Cookie Cake
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups AP flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter, softened (1 stick)
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 large egg
1 cup chocolate chunks

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Prepare 2-9” inch cake pans (if you want 2 smaller cakes), or 1 large pizza pan by spraying lightly with cooking spray. I used the disposable pans that you can buy at the grocery store.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt.

In a large bowl of a stand mixer, cream together butter and sugars. Continue mixing and add in vanilla and egg.

Slowly add in the flour mixture and mix just until combined. Do not overmix. Turn off mixer and pour in chocolate chunks. Mix in by hand.

Press the cookie mixture into the pan(s) and bake for 15-18 minutes. Once cooled, decorate with your favorite icing. You can also use chocolate syrup, or leave it plain.

Leave a Reply

