Oatmeal Raisin Cookies – Recipe for the “12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies”





My grandmother swears that every time she makes oatmeal raisin cookies, someone dies. Maybe she’s psychic and just knows when to start baking them, maybe it’s coicindental, or maybe she just knows a lot of people that are waiting for her to bake cookies so they can die. I have no idea. Either way, I was scared to even add this to my list of Christmas cookies this year. While there are people out there that I have wished dead in my life, there are no guarantees that when I bake these cookies that they will be the ones to die. I guess I will take my chances….this curse only seems to follow my grandmother anyway – at least I hope. Cue the creepy Halloween ghost noises.




Ok, enough of the morbid talk. Christmas cookies make me happy. They are wonderful. I can only think of a couple of cookies that I just don’t like – the “snowball” cookies that are filled with nuts and rolled in powdered sugar. YUCK! I haven’t met a snowball cookie (they may be called Pecan balls or butter balls) that I like. They have all been hard and crumbly – not exactly the most desireably qualities of any good cookie. You won’t see too many recipes on my website that have nuts in them anyway. I don’t like pecans or walnuts, so I never, EVER bake or cook with them, unless it’s a pecan pie for the holidays. I also have a child with a mild peanut allergy, so I cook with peanuts, but only occasionally. I know a lot of you like nuts in your cookies and brownies, so you’re gonna have to jump over to someone elses’ blog to find those. But make sure you come right back!



I wanted to try adding vanilla pudding to these cookies because pudding adds a level of softness to cookies that can sometimes be hard to obtain. I know it’s an interesting addition, but I think you will like it. You can also bake these without the pudding if you don’t have it on hand.



My sous chef decided not to cook with me yesterday evening. He was too busy pretending to kill people on XBox. That sounds so bad…why do I let him play those awful games?? I know why…because every parent in America does. Ah, the joys of being a parent. Sometimes you just have to pray that you raised them right and they won’t try to recreate the scenes from Modern Warfare or Grand Theft Auto. Anyway, although he didn’t help bake the cookies, he certainly didn’t waste any time devouring 3 of them before he went to bed. I have to admit, the kids generally eat 1 or 2 cookies and then they move on to something else, so I was ecstatic to see him gobbling them up. That’s generally a sign that these are some darn good cookies. The addition of cloves to these cookies really takes them to another level. They are just plain delicious!



I will give my normal, “cookie baking” disclaimers:
1) Please follow the recipe, especially if you are just learning to cook.
2) Do not overmix your cookies. Those hard and crumbly cookies that you hate – yep, they were overmixed. Mix until the flour is just combined. No need to mix the dough to death!
3) Only bake until the cookies are golden, about 9-10 minutes MAX.
4) Let them cool for at least 2 minutes before moving to a cooling rack.
5) If you like lots of raisins, add another 1/4 cup to the recipe.



Make these cookies for Christmas. I know I will be. For more yummy recipes from other bloggers for the “12 Weeks of Christmas Cookes” or to enter YOUR blog, click here.



Soft and Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:

1 cup butter, softened
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 package instant vanilla pudding (4 oz)
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 cups rolled oats
1 cup raisins (soaked in hot water for 10 minutes then drained)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar, white sugar, and pudding. Add eggs one at a time, and then add vanilla until smooth. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves, and salt; gradually mix into the sugar mixture just until combined. Mix in, by hand, the oats and raisins. Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets.

Bake 9 to 10 minutes until light and golden. Do not overbake. Let cookies cool on baking sheet for 2 minutes before removing and moving to cooling rack. Once completely cooled, store in airtight container.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 09:50:27

    looks good! I think I will try to make these tonight!

    Reply

  2. Katy Β¦ Alphabet Soup
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 17:06:04

    Oatmeal raisin cookies are a favorite of mine. Too bad your grandmother is cursed. πŸ™‚ I’ve never put pudding mix in my cookies before, that’s interesting!

    Reply

  3. BreAna {Sugar & Spice & All Things Iced}
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 17:35:45

    Yum! I’ve always enjoyed oatmeal raisin cookies. I hope the cookie curse didn’t pass along to you. πŸ™‚ I have to admit that I’m not a fan of nuts in my cookies either.

    Reply

  4. Ashley @ Kitchen Meets Girl
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 19:26:05

    Oatmeal cookies are my favorite. Love the addition of the cloves!

    Reply

  5. Tracy
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 19:41:55

    I love oatmeal raisin cookies. Yours look great!

    Reply

  6. Carrie @ poet in the pantry
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 14:26:21

    That’s quite the curse that follows these cookies! Did anyone die? πŸ˜‰ You may not want to check my selection this week… it’s those cookies you hate.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: oatmeal raisin cookies « gingered pear
  8. Rachelle
    Feb 28, 2013 @ 09:56:31

    What is the yield on this batch of cookies?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

