Slow Cooker Roast Beef – Tastes like it took longer than 5 minutes to prepare



Happy November! Well, maybe it’s not happy for some. The way I look at it is that it brings me one month closer to spring. That’s the only thing I look forward to once October ends.

Last night was Halloween, and, as always, my neighborhood was CRAZY. We went through 8 big bags of candy! The kids had so much fun. I made homemade chili (recipe tomorrow) and apple pie (recipe soon). My mother-in-law made white chicken chili, so I will take pics and post that later as well. Gees, I have a lot of blogging to do this week.

So this recipe isn’t a recipe that I made for Halloween. This is a recipe that I make on a regular basis because the hubby loves it. I love it too, especially because it’s a crockpot recipe. I have always loved French dip sandwiches, but I never knew how to make the perfect roast beef for them. This recipe does it. All you need are some good French rolls and any cheese that you prefer with your roast beef and you will have a quick and easy roast beef sandwich. This can be prepared the night before and then added to the crockpot in the morning, or it can be prepared the same day.

Hunk of Meat Mondays

Slow Cooker Beef Dip Sandwiches
Adapted from: allrecipes.com
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:
5 pound beef chuck roast
1 1/2 tablespoons minced garlic
1 tablespoon dried rosemary
3 bay leaves
1 cup soy sauce (I use GF soy sauce)
6 cups water

Directions:
In large bowl, combine all of the ingredients except the bay leaves and roast. Stir to combine. Add roast to bowl, cover and refrigerate overnight if possible to marinate the meat. This is not a necessary step, but I find that the flavor is better if you can let it sit in the marinade overnight.

Add the beef, marinade and bay leaves to a large crockpot. Cook on low for 8 hours.



Remove roast from crockpot. Let meat rest for 5 minutes. Slice and spoon some of the leftover liquid from the crockpot onto the meat. Serve warm or cold.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Leah @ Beyer Beware
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 20:39:04

    Yum! Love beef sandwiches. They are staple here too. Your recipe sounds good with soy sauce though! Thanks for linking up to Hunk of Meat Monday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

