Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies – For Week 5 of the 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies





What a week this has been!! So many good things have happened, along with a few bad things scattered in. My hometown baseball team making it to Game 7 of the World Series has definitely washed away all of the bad. Game 6 will go down as one of my favorite games of all time! I am so glad that the Cardinals won, because if they hadn’t, I would still be thinking about the horrible kitchen debacle that I had last night.

I am participating in this great challenge called “The 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies” hosted by Brenda at Meal Planning Magic. I have had so much fun making new cookies each week and sharing them with you. I had planned to make Oatmeal/Raisin cookies for Thursday’s post, but somewhere in the day I changed my mind. The hubby has to eat gluten-free, and I knew that it had been a while since I had made him something sweet, so I decided to make flourless chocolate cookies with mini peanut butter cups on top.

This was all good in theory, but I’m fairly certain that the recipe I got from another blogger was off on the amount of ingredients. These cookies were a mess from the moment I started putting them on the cookie sheet. They were too runny, so I added more powdered sugar thinking that this would help. No dice! They ran together and created a very strange and large cookie that was full of air and had an odd consistency. The unfortunate thing about this is that they actually tasted good! They just looked like a steaming pile of poo. Trust me, we ate the large mess of cookie-like stuff, but there is no way I would ever post something that turned out so ugly on a post for Christmas cookies. It wouldn’t be fair to you. Christmas cookies are supposed to be pretty.

I decided to go back into the archives and bring out a good recipe. This is one of the first recipes that I ever posted. I know it hasn’t been that long since I started my blog, but hopefully you are willing to give this recipe a try if you passed it over the first time.

These cookies are “naturally” gluten-free because the original recipe doesn’t call for flour. This is a regular recipe, so don’t pass on it because it’s gluten-free. These cookies are not a cakey cookie. They are more soft and chewy, which is how I like my cookies. Don’t get me wrong, I like cookies that have a cake consistency as well, but there is nothing better than a chewy cookie…it reminds of the corners of brownies. YUM!

View all of the other bloggers’ recipes, click here.


Peanut Butter Cookies with Chocolate Drizzle
Adapted from: Gluten Free Girl
Yields 2 dozen cookies
Printable Recipe
Ingredients

1 cup creamy peanut butter
1 cup crunchy peanut butter
1 1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 tsp baking powder
2 eggs
1/2 cup granulated sugar + an additional 1/2 cup sugar for rolling
1 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream together peanut butters and sugar. I used my stand mixer, but you can also mix by hand. Add in the baking powder and eggs and mix until combined evenly.

Pour additional 1/2 cup sugar into a small bowl. Roll cookie dough into small balls and then rolls in the bowl of sugar. Place dough balls onto cookie sheet and flatten slightly with a fork. Bake for 10-12 minutes. IMPORTANT: Leave the cookies on the cookie sheet for 5 minutes before moving to a cooling rack. Do not remove the cookies from the cookie sheet before this time is up or they will not have the right texture.

Melt the chocolate chips in the microwave by placing them in a microwave-safe bowl and cooking on high for 10 seconds. Stir and cook an additional 10 seconds. Follow this method until they chips are completely melted. Once the cookies have cooled, use a fork or spoon to drizzle the chocolate over the top.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 13:30:32

    What a delicious cookie to make as a Christmas gift for friends! Everyone loves peanut butter and chocolate 🙂

    Reply

  2. BreAna {Sugar & Spice & All Things Iced}
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 17:40:27

    Mmm Mmmmm…I love peanut butter and chocolate cookies. I’ve never tried a cookie recipe without flour before. I’ll have to make these sometime!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Thanksgiving Menu – Simple recipes for those that don’t want to spend a lot of time in the kitchen « The Accidental Cook

Leave a Reply

