Zia’s on the Hill – A Food Truck Review

St. Louis is famous for a lot of things, at least we like to think that we are. We have a wonderful area here called “The Hill.” This area is full of Italian restaurants, grocery stores and bakeries that have some of the most wonderful items in St. Louis. I have eaten at quite a few of these restaurants, but I have never eaten at Zia’s. And, I STILL haven’t eaten AT Zia’s, but I had the pleasure of trying out their new food truck on Monday.

New food trucks continue to show up outside of my office everyday. We now have the Sausage Syndicate, Big Balls and Zia’s. I haven’t been real excited about trying the first 2, but as soon as I saw Zia’s, I knew I had to try them. I could smell the garlic wafting through the elevators as I made my way down to the first floor.

They have a small menu, but they have some really great items such as toasted raviolis, Portabello mushroom ravioli, sausage sandwiches, and a house salad. I opted for the mushroom ravioli and house salad.





I was cautiously optimistic about the ravioli. It seemed impossible for those ravioli to be very good because 1) they came out of a food truck and 2) I was locked out of my building for about 10 minutes after I got my piping hot raviolis, so they would most certainly be cold and gross. Boy was I wrong! This food was fantastic. The raviolis were some of the best I have ever had, AND they came out of a truck and not from a waiter at a fancy restaurant. This food was cooked to order, and it showed. The taste was phenomenal! The salad was exactly as expected. It was nothing special, but it was exactly what I expected and wanted. It was fresh and the perfect side to my mouth-watering ravioli. The total cost of my meal, $11! I know that sounds like a lot for lunch, but if you just got the ravioli, it was only $7. I think that’s a steal for the quality, quantity and the fresh veggies that were included.

If you want to find out where this food truck will be and to see their full menu, visit them on Facebook (link here). Check them out soon. I’m certain that this will be one of the more popular trucks and the lines will be long!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kay aka Babygirl
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 11:50:36

    I have to ask my best friend about this place, she is from St. Louis.. but I do love food trucks here in NYC. Some are way better than the restaurants. Very nice post

    Reply

  2. jan
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 08:19:14

    Very cool! Will they come to Springfield MO?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

