Soft Snickerdoodles – Recipe for “The 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies”





My family went to a fish fry last weekend. It was a fun evening and the fish was fantastic. The fish was all locally caught by our friend, and it was so nice of him to share his bounty with us. He even fried it himself! What a guy!!! I won’t be inviting anyone over for a fish fry any time soon. I do not like fishing. There are just too many squishy, slimmy things associated with it…worms, fish, blood, guts, and crickets. Ewwwww!

At the fish fry, I started talking to my friends about cookies. Any time that I can talk about baking, I do. People ask my advice or ask me to make certain things. I love it. One of the cookies we talked about was Snickerdoodles. I had planned to make Pumpkin Snickerdoodles this week, but the conversation that we had led me to make the basic Snickerdoodle recipe. People seem to love the traditional cookie recipes, so why change it up? I enjoy trying new things, but, when it comes to holiday cooking, people like to eat the traditional foods. I associate snickerdoodles with Christmas, and I think a lot of others do as well.

The original recipe called for Cream of Tartar, but, the recipe I used is perfect for those of you that don’t have any on hand. I really cannot tell the difference. Once again, the keys to making great cookies are:

1. Do not overmix them. Mix until just incorporated when adding flour.
2. Do not over-bake them. 10 minutes is plenty of time.
3. Do not leave them on the cookie sheet. Remove to a cooling rack right away.



I want to thank my friends for reminding me that simple and traditional recipes are what people what for the holidays. Not only will people appreciate what I make, I will spend less time in the kitchen. BONUS!


Soft Snickerdoodles
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:

1 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 3/4 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Cream together butter, 1 1/2 cups sugar, vanilla and eggs thoroughly in a large bowl.

In separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt in a separate bowl.

Slowly mix dry ingredients into butter mixture just until combined.

Chill dough so it can easily be rolled, approx. 10-15 minutes in the fridge.

Meanwhile, mix 3 tablespoons sugar, and 1 tablespoon cinnamon in a small bowl.

Roll 1 inch balls of dough and drop them into the sugar/ cinnamon mixture. Roll them in the mixture until they are coated.

Place on parchment covered cookie sheet, and use the bottom of a drinking glass to flatten the cookies to about 1/2 inch thick. Bake 10 minutes. Remove from pan immediately and transfer to cooling rack.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to view all of the other recipes and/or to enter your link…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kita
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 16:46:07

    Lol, My dad dropped a few live fish off here a week or so ago. Yeah, lots of gross things.
    I need to give the snickerdoodle another shot. As a child I always picked chocolate chip, or other cookies with chocolaty goodness leaving the snickerdoodle alone and abandoned, but I really need to fix that.

    Reply

  2. BreAna {Sugar & Spice & All Things Iced}
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 17:28:11

    I love snickerdoodles! They were a family favorite growing up and they definitely remind me of the holidays. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Carrie @ poet in the pantry
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 19:45:27

    I’m with you on the fishing–ew! Traditional recipes like snickerdoodles, however, are fantastic. Yum!

    Reply

  4. Trisha
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 01:38:22

    I can’t believe I’ve still not had a snickerdoodle yet … that has got to change soon. I think I could easily enjoy a few of these!

    Reply

  5. Bam's Kitchen
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 09:40:04

    Wow, is their really less than 12 weeks until x-mas. Your snicker doodles look so soft and chewy! Yum!

    Reply

  6. Tracy
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 21:26:41

    I love snickerdoodles, yours look great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

