Sauteed Mushrooms with Sage – The Perfect Addition to your Favorite Steak



I think I may be allergic to work. For the past week, every time I walk into the office I start sneezing and coughing. I have never had allergies, so this is all a new adventure for me. My eyes are watering and my nose is itching. What the heck? This is a real pain. I feel bad because my boss bought me flowers for my birthday and I think they may be the culprit. I can’t be 100% certain of this, but it seems coincidental that all of this started when those flowers appeared on my desk. Ugh…what would you do? I have already moved them into the empty cubicle next to me so I could “water them without making my desk wet.” WINK WINK! I think they’re still too close. Oh well, I guess I need to find some allergy medicine and move on.

I have been noticeably absent from my food blog lately. I have been engrossed in my daughter’s volleyball adventures. If you are unfamiliar with “club volleyball,” then you are lucky, and you are about to have a lot more money than me. Club volleyball is the same as a “select” level team, but it is referred to as “club” volleyball. You spend weeks and weeks preparing for tryouts, which take place on the same weekend. All of the volleyball clubs will have tryouts within the same 48 hour period. There’s a lot of time spent coordinating which teams your daughter will tryout for and making sure you can be at each tryout, which tend to be about 45 minutes apart and on other sides of the continent. The tryouts are this weekend, so I’m sure I won’t spend much time blogging this weekend, but I’m planning to get back to normal once this whole fiasco is over.

The hubby and I planned to make baked chicken, macaroni and cheese and mixed veggies for dinner last night. Me being the crazy foodie that I am couldn’t just have a plain, baked chicken. I started looking up recipes for Chicken Cordon Bleu. We had all of the ingredients, but then I decided that the kids probably wouldn’t like it very much. They really just like plain chicken breasts, spiced up with some salt, pepper and garlic powder. Then I remembered a recipe that I wrote down years ago for sautéed mushrooms. When I saw it in a magazine, I knew that it was going to be good. I have made them many, many times, but it has been years since the last time. A boring, baked chicken can be turned into a gourmet meal with these yummy mushrooms. You can add them to beef and fish as well. In fact, the original recipe was written as a topping for fish.

This recipe only requires a few ingredients and hopefully you can gather them up easily so you can make this as a great, last-minute dinner. This recipe is also naturally gluten-free!

Sautéed Mushrooms with Sage
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:

4 tablespoons butter, divided
1 cup onions, diced
8 ounces mushrooms, sliced
1 teaspoon sage
1 cup chicken broth
Salt
Pepper

Directions:

Melt 2 tablespoons butter in a large skillet over medium/high heat. Add onions to butter and sauté until caramelized, about 15 minutes.



Transfer caramelized onions to a bowl.



Melt 2 tablespoons butter in a large skillet over medium/high heat. Add sliced mushrooms and sage and sauté for 10 minutes.



Stir in onions and chicken broth and bring to a boil.



Reduce heat and simmer (stirring frequently) until all of the liquid evaporates, about 10 minutes.



Use on top of your baked/grilled chicken, fish or steak.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bam's Kitchen
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 20:07:47

    Happy belated Birthday to you!!! Anything with butter, mushrooms and sage is a winner. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

