Chocolate Chip Cheese Dip – Perfect Appetizer for Kids and Adults



It is a dreary day here in the midwest. We have been receiving some much-needed rain, but it’s tough to stay awake in these dark days. It doesn’t help that I got almost NO sleep last night because I had 2, 11-year-old girls at my house that decided they didn’t want to sleep, and they didn’t want ME to sleep either. I was lucky enough to have them wake me up around 1am to tell me that they had broken 2 of my candle holders, but they assured me they cleaned up the mess. I know you’re going to be suprised by this…they did not clean up the mess. The shards of glass that were all over this morning lead me to this conclusion. I think they swept everything under the couch. Um, newsflash girls, I DO look under there occasionally, especially when I know that they have broken something all over the floor. To top off a stellar day, one of the girls decided to put Easy Mac in the microwave with no water in it. That never works! I can only imagine how my house is going to smell tonight. I’m going to lock myself in my bedroom and put on some headphones.

I’m so upset with those girls right now, that if I had a bowl of this chocolate chip cheese dip (recipe below), I wouldn’t share it with them. I would eat it all and make them watch me. I may even make them liver and brussel sprouts for dinner. If you have ever had the opportunity to try this cheese dip, you would know how upset these girls would be if I didn’t let them eat some. This dip is very easy to put together and it is another one of my most requested appetizers. You can buy some mini graham crackers like these to serve this with. I wish I had a bowl right now!



Chocolate Chip Cheese Dip
Adapted from: Allrecipes.com

Ingredients:
1 package cream cheese (8 ounces), softened
1/2 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup confectioners’ (powdered) sugar
2 tbsp brown sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup mini chocolate chips

Directions:

In medium bowl of mixer, beat together cream cheese and butter until smooth. Mix in confectioners’ sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract until combined. Add chocolate chips and mix until fully incorporated. Scoop mixture into serving bowl and chill for 1 hour before serving to ensure a better consistency. Serve with graham crackers.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 09:14:07

    I don’t blame you in any way for being upset with the girls. I can picture the whole thing. I must say, thank you though for a much needed laugh. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Thanksgiving Menu – Simple recipes for those that don’t want to spend a lot of time in the kitchen « The Accidental Cook

Leave a Reply

