Spiced Glazed Pumpkin Cookies – Recipe for the “12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies”





It’s that time of week…the time when I post another Christmas cookie recipe. I know you’re excited…more reminders of Christmas! I should just start walking around singing Christmas songs and wearing an ugly, Christmas sweater; are there any other type of Christmas sweaters? Maybe I should remind everyone that there are only 6-7 more paydays until Christmas, that is, if you get paid twice a month. If you get paid monthly, well, I won’t even scare you with that. Just be prepared, the holidays are knocking on your door.

Last night I told the hubby that I had to get home to bake cookies, and he got a confused look and said “Why?” Well, is there ever a BAD time to make cookies? Cookies are one of those desserts that I never have to throw away. They always get eaten. Both kids and adults love them, and they are relatively easy to make. I joined this challenge for making weekly Christmas cookies because I knew it was an easy challenge for me. I can throw together a batch of cookies in as little as an hour (baking time included). Recently it has been taking me more time because I have to take pictures of everything that I’m doing, but I’m getting better at that as well.

So last night I decided to make Spiced Glazed Pumpkin Cookies. This was a combination of recipes and it was very easy to put together. I did have one incident during the process…Do NOT scrape down the sides of a mixing bowl with a rubber spatula while the mixer is still running. Let’s just say that there was a “flour shower” all over my kitchen. I had spiced flour everywhere, including on ME. Oh well, it was just one of those moments where you laugh and move on. Later, my daughter told me I smelled good, and I’m certain that it was the pumpkin spices. Maybe I have something with that…pumpkin pie spice perfume. I bet I know a few people that would wear it.

The step-by-step instructions are below along with the full recipe at the bottom.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to view all of the other entries and/or to add your link to the Blog Hop…

These cookies are delicious…I’m eating one right now! They are soft, moist and full of flavor. Anyone that likes pumpkin will like these cookies.

Preheat oven to 350. In a medium bowl, whisk together 2-1/2 cups flour, 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp baking soda, 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp ground cloves, and 1/2 tsp salt.



In the bowl of stand mixer, cream 1/2 cup butter (softened), 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Beat in 1 cup pumpkin, 1 egg, and 1-1/2 tsp vanilla until combined. As you may be able to tell from my picture, I didn't cream the ingredients first. I guess it works either way.



Slowly add the dry ingredients and mix on low/medium just until combined.


Drop cookies on baking sheet. They do not spread much. Bake for 12-14 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.



Cool cookies completely on a rack.



In small bowl, mix 1 cup powdered sugar with 2 tbsp milk. Add more sugar or milk to reach the desired consistency. Use a brush to spread on completely cooled cookies.



Prepare spiced glaze while first glaze is hardening. In small bowl, mix 1 cup powdered sugar, 2 tbsp milk, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp nutmeg, pinch of ginger and a pinch of cloves. Drizzle over the top of the first glaze.



Serve once the glaze has completely hardened, or eat them right away if you can’t wait!



Spiced Glazed Pumpkin Cookies
Adapted from Sweet and Savory Tooth
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:

2 ½ cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 heaping teaspoons ground cinnamon
½ teaspoon ground nutmeg
½ teaspoon ground cloves
½ teaspoon salt
½ cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup white sugar
½ cup brown sugar
1 cup canned pumpkin puree
1 egg
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Powdered Sugar Glaze:

1 cup powdered sugar
2 tablespoons milk

Spiced Glaze:

1 cup powdered sugar
2 tablespoons milk
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 pinch ground ginger
1 pinch ground cloves

Preheat oven to 350°F.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, ground cloves, and salt.

In the bowl of stand mixer, cream butter, white sugar and brown sugar. Beat in the pumpkin, egg, and vanilla until combined.

Slowly add the dry ingredients and mix on low/medium just until combined.
Drop cookies on baking sheet. Bake for 12-14 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool cookies completely on a rack.

In small bowl, mix powdered sugar with milk. Add more sugar or milk to reach the desired consistency. Use a brush to spread on completely cooled cookies.

Prepare spiced glaze while first glaze is hardening. In small bowl, mix powdered sugar, milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cloves. Drizzle over the top of the first glaze.

Serve once the glaze has completely hardened, or eat them right away if you can’t wait!


6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. www.oursweetestgift.blogspot.com
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 15:47:02

    Yum! Those look really good! I am definitely going to Pin this one.

    I’ve had the flour shower before. It usually happens when I’m rushing. :o)

    Reply

  2. Kristen
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 17:04:53

    I love cookies with glaze or frosting. Pumpkin makes the best cookies!!

    Reply

  3. Laurie
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 20:34:20

    Mmmmm….gotta try these..I LOVE cinnamon!

    Reply

  4. Lisa @ Sweet as Sugar Cookies
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 21:29:45

    I love pumpkin cookies and the idea of using a spiced glaze sounds perfect. You know me, I can never have too much spice.

    Reply

  5. Carrie @ poet in the pantry
    Oct 07, 2011 @ 15:46:26

    Ah, yes. Kitchen mishaps are always fun. Or at least good for a story down the road. Those cookies look so yummy! And you’re right–there’s never a bad time to bake cookies!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

