Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe



I would like to share a few nuggets of wisdom that I have heard from children lately. These children will remain nameless because I’m certain that they don’t want all of the notoriety that comes along with making such profound statements. For your reading pleasure:

“It’s been a long time since I’ve been poked in the eye.”
“I ALWAYS remember everything that I forget.”
“I stay awake until I fall asleep.”
“Shhhh, I’m trying to smell something.”

I think I’m going to start keeping a log of the silly things that I hear from kids. Have you heard anything funny lately?

Now, back to the food. I try to have everything planned out by Monday, including my menu. I know if I wait, it won’t get done during the week. But, even if I do plan a menu, sometimes it doesn’t work out as expected. I put together a great menu last week and went shopping to purchase all of the necessary items. Well, I’m fairly certain that nothing was cooked as planned. I made so many things that weren’t on the menu…cranberry/orange bread, vanilla bundt cake, French bread, 3 different kinds of dips, and a birthday cake. I hadn’t really thought about how crazy that was until I wrote it here. No wonder I gained 5 pounds this weekend!

I did end up making everything on the menu, it just wasn’t in the order that I planned. Last night I decided to make a homemade spaghetti sauce. The original recipe called for simmering the sauce on the stove for 2 hours, and I knew I didn’t have time to sit inside the house and let the whole thing simmer. I decided to experiment and throw everything in the crockpot. It worked out perfectly. It was the easiest sauce I have ever made. I even threw in some meatballs that I had previously frozen – I’ll share that recipe with you soon.

I served the spaghetti with some homemade bread and Pasta House salad, both recipes will also be posted here soon.

Here are the step-by-step instructions (not many) and the full recipe is at the bottom:

Set crockpot to low. Add to crockpot – 1 can of whole tomatoes, 1 can of diced tomatoes, 1 can of tomato paste, bay leaf, 1 tsp. sugar, 1 tsp. dried basil and ½ tsp. black pepper.



In medium pan, over medium/high heat, add ¼ cup olive oil. Once hot, add 1 cup chopped onions and sauté until soft and translucent. Add 2 tbsp. minced garlic and sauté until fragrant, approx. 1 minute.



Remove from heat and add to crockpot.



Stir to combine and cook on low for 7 hours.



Serve over your favorite spaghetti noodles.



Slow Cooker (Crockpot) Spaghetti Sauce
Recipe by: The Accidental Cook
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:

1 can of whole, peeled tomatoes (15 ounces)
1 can of diced tomatoes (15 ounces)
1 can tomato paste (6 ounces)
1 bay leaf
1 tsp. sugar
1 tsp. dried basil
1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
1 cup onions – chopped
2 tbsp. minced garlic (5 cloves)
1/4 cup olive oil

Set crockpot to low. Add to crockpot – 1 can of whole tomatoes, 1 can of diced tomatoes, 1 can of tomato paste, bay leaf, 1 tsp. sugar, 1 tsp. dried basil and ½ tsp. black pepper.

In medium pan, over medium/high heat, add ¼ cup olive oil. Once hot, add 1 cup chopped onions and sauté until soft and translucent. Add 2 tbsp. minced garlic and sauté until fragrant, approx. 1 minute.

Remove from heat and add to crockpot.

Stir to combine and cook on low for 7 hours.

Leave a Reply

