Weekly Menu and a Recipe for Eggs in a Basket

I have really gotten involved in Pinterest. It’s a really fun site and I have collected some great ideas. But, I think there are some people out there that post things that are bad and/or don’t work and they think it’s funny. Seriously, whoever thought that drizzling fingernail polish in a glass of water and swirling your finger around in it to paint your nails was a good idea? Apparently one blogger who either didn’t explain the technique properly, or thought it would be funny to hear stories about readers having to bathe in fingernail polish remover. Either way, I bought into the concept and spent 30 minutes last night removing polish from each inch of my hands. DUMB! If you follow me on Pinterest, ignore the fact that I ever pinned the story about the fingernails. As I’m typing this, I can see fingernail polish in between the diamonds on my ring. UGH!

I would have taken a picture of this debacle, but my camera sucks! I have been trying to convince the hubby that I need a new camera, and I think he agrees, but getting a good DSLR camera is going to cost me a car payment. But, I’m starting to realize that even if I did have a good camera, I would have no clue how to use it. I could take a photography class, but I have to have a DSLR to take the class, and, if I buy a new DSLR, I can’t afford a photography class anyway. So, I’m caught in a vicious cycle here. Maybe I just give up on taking good pictures and just use words to describe everything. You guys can use your imagination, right?!

The hubby is such a good sport about my cooking, baking and picture taking. He likes to cook as well, but he isn’t obsessed like I am. As we were driving to meet my mom for a bike ride, I decided that we needed to talk about the menu for the week. I’m sure he was super ecstatic to be discussing food yet again. It’s always funny to hear his take on some of the menu items. I suggested that we try to make the French Dip recipe that I had on the menu from last week. I recommended serving it with French Fries, and then I thought I was so funny when I said, “How about serving with French Cut Green Beans…then we would have French Dip with French Fries and French Green Beans.” Then, without missing a beat, the hubby says, “We will call it our surrender meal.” Oh, we’re a laugh a minute; I’m surprised SNL hasn’t called us to be writers.

So here’s the menu for the week. Maybe you can plan something similar for your family, or maybe you can all plan it together AND cook it together.

Sunday – Steak, sautéed mushrooms, rice
Monday – Tacos
Tuesday – Spaghetti with homemade sauce, Pasta House Salad, Garlic bread
Wednesday – Macaroni/Beef Casserole, Steamed Veggies
Thursday – Crockpot French Dip, French Fries, French Cut Green Beans
Friday – Pizzas



Eggs in a Basket

Ingredients:

1 slice of sandwich bread
Butter (enough to cover 1 side of bread)
1 medium egg

Remove a circular portion of the bread – a circle about 1 inch in diameter – from the middle.

Spread butter over one side of the bread, and place butter side down in a skillet that has been heated over medium heat.

Break egg into the hole in the bread and fry until the buttered side of the bread is toasted.



Flip bread over and let cook until the egg has reached your desired level of doneness.

Leave a Reply

