Chocolate Chip Pancake Recipe – The kids will love these



I really enjoy making breakfast. I’m a morning person, so I always get up before everyone else. More often then not, I find myself at the grocery store picking up various staples to be used for breakfast that morning. It’s also an excuse to go to Starbuck’s and spend the salary I earned the day before.

Cooking, especially for your family, tends to be a thankless job. They ask for something, they eat it, and rarely do they even clean up afterwards. All of the thought and time that you put into your meal goes unnoticed, mostly by your children. I’m not saying that I have bad kids, but they’re KIDS. They don’t understand the time and thought that goes into cooking an entire meal. But, a few months ago, a beautiful thing happened. My oldest daughter asked what I was making for breakfast. I told her that I didn’t have anything planned, to which she said, “Can you make a big breakfast?” I was a little perplexed because she usually wants pancakes, and is quite happy with that. But she went on the say, “I love it when you make big breakfasts on the weekend. I love to wake up to the smell of the bacon cooking and then coming downstairs to have breakfast.” I guess they do notice afterall. They DO enjoy the fact that I cook for them. I especially love it when they ask me to make something new and different, which is what prompted me (2 years ago) to find the recipe I am posting today.


All of the kids love pancakes. I have one that prefers cinnamon rolls, but they will all eat pancakes. I started making pancakes when I found a recipe on the inside of one of my cabinets; it was there when we moved in. I have no idea why I used this one instead of looking up a “tried and true” recipe on the Internet, but hindsight is always 20/20. Anyway, I made those pancakes, and they were just ok. They were really flat and kinda boring, but I persisted at my quest to find the perfect pancake recipe. My oldest daughter requested chocolate chip pancakes, so I just decided to throw chocolate chips into one of my latest and greatest recipes. I must admit that it still wasn’t quite right. After several failed attempts, I finally put together my no-fail recipe. You really can use any pancake recipe that you prefer and then add in mini chocolate chips, but you can also use mine.

If you make these on the weekend, you can prepare your batter the night before. You can also make plenty of extra pancakes, storing them in an airtight container, and then reheating them during the week for breakfasts before school. If your house is anything like mine, they won’t last through the week!




Chocolate Chip Pancakes
by: The Accidental Cook

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (you can also use gluten free flour)
2 tsp granulated sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
1 1/4 cups buttermilk (regular milk works too)
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 large eggs
3/4 cup mini chocolate chips

Directions:

Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add in buttermilk, oil, and eggs and then mix just until combined. Fold in chocolate chips.

Heat a skillet or griddle over medium heat. Once griddle is warm, spray with cooking spray and pour batter using 1/4 cups. Once you see bubbles appear on the top surface of the pancake flip them. Cook for an additional minute or 2 on the other side. Remove from griddle and serve with butter and syrup.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Muscarello Moretti
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 09:55:26

    These were delicious. I substituted original flavored Almond milk instead of butter milk or whole milk. My kids gobbled them up. I will be making these a lot 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

