Pumpkin Roll Recipe – Why wait to use canned pumpkin?



This week I was disappointed because someone else volunteered to bring treats for our United Way breakfast.  When I heard the news, I cheered out loud, but inside I was a little sad.  I had no excuse to bake something.

But the person that was bringing the treats was making Biscotti.  Yuck!  I’m not a huge fan of Biscotti.  It’s really dry, and I don’t prefer dry and crumbly sweets in most cases.  I know that people like to dip it in their coffee, but I thought it had limited appeal for this breakfast.  Since I’m on the United Way planning committee, I made the executive decision to go ahead and bring something anyway.  I don’t think anyone cared either way…I mean…who’s going to turn down sweets?!

I went through my list of saved recipes on Allrecipes.com, and came up with this Pumpkin Roll.  It looked easy, and I have made it once before, so I was ready to get baking.

There were a few things that I messed up with this recipe:

1.  When it says to use a linen cloth or cheese cloth to roll up the cake, do it.  Once again, I thought I was exempt from this part of the recipe.  When I unrolled the dough, I learned why this was important.  The outside of the roll was covered in little pieces of fuzz.  Imagine a furry caterpillar…yep, now you get the point.  Thankfully I was able to rectify that issue by wrapping it in foil over night and then unwrapping it.  The fuzz all stuck to the foil.  Whew!!!

2.  Make sure you use the appropriate sized pan.  This was somewhat of an issue for me, and I had to trim the edges once it baked to make it look nice.

3.  Before rolling the dough up into the cloth, make sure it is all the way at the edge of the cloth.  If you don’t, the roll will not cool evenly.  You can see this in my pics below.

The pumpkin roll was mostly a success.  Everyone enjoyed it, and it was gone in a couple of hours.  Even though I think I over-mixed the dough, making it a little tough, no one really noticed.  But, I think that’s partly because of the cream cheese filling.  I’m pretty sure you could cover a dirty sock in that stuff, and everyone would eat it. 

I hope you will try this.  Just make sure you follow the recipe…unlike me. 😉 Step-by-step instructions are below followed by the full recipe.

In a mixing bowl, beat 3 eggs on high for 5 minutes.



Gradually beat in 1 cup white sugar until thick and lemon-colored.



In another bowl combine /4 cup flour, 2 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. baking powder, 1/2 tsp. salt, and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg



Fold flour mixture into the pumpkin mixture.



Grease a 15x10x1 inch baking pan; line with waxed paper. Grease and flour the paper. Spread batter into pan; sprinkle with walnuts. Bake at 375 degrees for 15 minutes.



Immediately turn out onto a linen towel dusted with confectioners' sugar. Peel off paper and roll cake up in the towel, starting with the short end. Cool.



In a bowl, beat 6 ozs. cream cheese, 1 cup confectioners' sugar, 1/4 cup butter, and 1/2 tsp. vanilla until fluffy. Carefully unroll cake. Spread filling over cake to within 1 inch of edges.



Roll up again. Cover and chill until serving. Dust with additional confectioners' sugar, if desired.



Slice and eat!



Pumpkin Roll
Recipe copied from: Allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

3 eggs
1 cup white sugar
2/3 cup canned pumpkin
1 teaspoon lemon juice
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 cup chopped walnuts
6 ounces cream cheese, softened
1 cup confectioners’ sugar
1/4 cup butter, softened
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

In a mixing bowl, beat eggs on high for 5 minutes. Gradually beat in white sugar until thick and lemon-colored. Add pumpkin and lemon juice.

In another bowl combine flour, cinnamon, baking powder, salt, and nutmeg; fold into the pumpkin mixture.

Grease a 15x10x1 inch baking pan; line with waxed paper. Grease and flour the paper. Spread batter into pan; sprinkle with walnuts.

Bake at 375 degrees F (190 degrees C) for 15 minutes or until cake springs back when lightly touched.

Immediately turn out onto a linen towel dusted with confectioners’ sugar. Peel off paper and roll cake up in the towel, starting with the short end. Cool.

Meanwhile, in a mixing bowl, beat cream cheese, 1 cup confectioners’ sugar, butter, and vanilla until fluffy.

Carefully unroll the cake. Spread filling over cake to within 1 inch of edges. Roll up again. Cover and chill until serving. Dust with additional confectioners’ sugar, if desired.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fred
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 20:16:31

    I don’t especially like pumpkin but your roll certainly look appetizing. Can we expect this at Thankgiving. By the way, I know your mother taught you never to deviate from a recipe, mostly by example!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Pumpkin Scone Recipe – Just like Starbucks and super easy to make « The Accidental Cook
  3. jan kuse
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 16:58:35

    this was delicious! i used parchment paper without greasing it instead of waxed paper, and a very old tea towel to roll it up. Turned out great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

