Weekly Menu and some Grocery Shopping Advice

My next trip to the grocery store will be on Saturday. Oh, how excited I am! Not really. Let’s get real…grocery shopping sucks! There is nothing worse than walking around a grocery store for an hour. The thought of doing it makes me want to stay home and watch CSPAN instead. That’s about how much I love grocery shopping. But, what makes grocery shopping somewhat tolerable is knowing exactly what I need. By planning my menu for the week ahead, I can run through the aisles like someone on that gameshow from the 90s called Supermarket Sweep (yes, there was a version from the 60s, but I wasn’t around for the first iteration). Does anyone else remember that show? Wow, that’s not one of the finer moments in television history. Well, neither is Saved by the Bell – the College Years, or the Arseno Hall Show. Did you know there was actually a show called Homeboys in Outerspace (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Homeboys_in_Outer_Space)? Apparently no one else did either because it only lasted a short time. But the title made me laugh.

So the menu is done, and I’m ready to hit the store with my list in hand…all items on the list are categorized into sections that coorespond with how they are found in the store, and those categories are placed in the order of the path that I take through the store. Ok, follow me here…If I need ham, potatoes, carrots, milk, bread, and beans, the first items on my list are potatoes and carrots, because I know that the first section in the store is the produce. The next will be bread followed by ham because these items come next in my path through the store. Seriously, it makes shopping so much easier to do it this way. I don’t have to track back through the entire store because I managed to forget the onions. I guess I’m OCD (or COD if you are OCD too). When I started doing my shopping list this way, I kinda thought everyone else did too. Once again, I am surprised by some of the strange things I do.

Enough of my ramblings. Here’s the menu for the week with links as appropriate. I will be posting recipes for everything in the coming week, including those without links. I can’t post the ones without links yet because they are my own, and I don’t want YOU to make them before I do. They may not be good, and I don’t want to embarrass myself.

Chow for now!

Recipes for 9/18-9/22:

Sunday – Ham and Bean Soup w/ leftover cornbread
Monday – Tacos
Tuesday – Chicken Teriyaki with steamed rice
Wednesday – Broiled Tilapia Parmesan w/ Roasted Red Potatoes and frozen veggies. I will have to make baked chicken for the kids. They don’t prefer fish.
Thursday – French Dip Sandwiches, French Fries, canned peas

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 21:14:04

    You are not the only one who shops this way. I make my menu for the week and then as I look at it I have a piece of paper I have (mentally at least) sectioned off with how my store is layed out. I even write down things like, 4 apples if I plan on eating apples for breakfast 4 days that week. Therefore, you are not the only OCD gal around. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jodie Austin Richardson
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 23:20:27

    Cheri, this is too funny! I do the EXACT same thing with my grocery list – I get everything planned then I write in the order I will get to it in the store. Could this OCD be hereditary? lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

