Easy Pulled Pork and a Delayed Announcement



Exciting news! The blog has a new name and website – The Accidental Cook. Oh wait, you’ve probably already noticed. Sorry, I’m a little late to the party on this one. I generally write 2 blogs a day, and I had planned to write about this yesterday, but I got busy and totally missed my opportunity. Such is life!

This whole blogging thing has really become a passion of mine. I enjoy cooking and writing, so this fits right in. In order for me to continue blogging and to make my blog a success, I have to start transitioning to a “real” website. There are all kinds of things I have to do that involve a bunch of words that I don’t understand. I’m so thankful to my hubby for taking care of all of this technical stuff, because I’m clueless. He and I spent the entire evening on Wednesday trying to think up names for the blog that would fit with what I do here. Some of my favorites were:

1. “Cooking for my Ungrateful Family”

2. “Boogers, Baking, and _________ – The complete guide to balancing your life.” (I can’t fill in the last word because it is totally inappropriate, and my kids may be reading this. But get creative. You can probably figure it out. It starts with a “B” as well.)

3. “My Mom’s Cooking Sucked” (sorry mom, your cooking didn’t suck, we just thought this would catch people’s attention)

We had some other really good ones that weren’t as funny as these, but they were at the top of the list. The hubby was the one that actually came up with the final name, and I really like it. We both thought that it was perfect for me because I kind of “accidentally” fell in to cooking. I never knew that I would like it so much when I started having to cook for my family. My mom really disliked cooking, and so cooking was never an exciting thing in our household. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that; it just wasn’t her passion and that’s OK. To be honest, it wasn’t my dad’s passion either. He would cook for us when my mom was out of town (not often), and he always made the same thing….Hamburger Hash. Maybe I can have him be a guest blogger on my site and he can share his famous recipe with us.

So, I hope you like the new site. There are going to be more improvements in the future. Now, back to the important stuff….FOOD!

The dinner menu that I posted last week was a success. We have made all of the planned meals and none of them were huge flops, at least I thought they weren’t. We did move some of the meals around in the week, but we did make each one of them. Wednesday was the day for Pulled Pork, and one of my readers, “T,” specifically requested that I post this one. This was one of the first crockpot receipes I made many years ago. It is almost foolproof, which is what I needed when I first started cooking. This is a great introductory recipe if you are just learning to cook for your family and you don’t have a lot of time.

I served the pulled pork on 80 calorie, wheat buns and made baked French Fries (frozen) and reheated the crockpot green beans from last week. This entire meal was “naturally” gluten free (except the buns – the hubby used his own bread). If I had more time I would have made my own French fries, but the frozen Ore Ida Fast Food Fries are really good baked. Spray them with some cooking spray and sprinkle with salt. Really good and really easy. The whole meal took less than 10 minutes to prepare and the only reason why we didn’t eat as soon as I got home was because we had to bake the French fries. But, French fries are always worth waiting for!

Cook for your family, cook AS a family, cook often! I am a working mom that also doubles as a taxi driver. If I have time to cook for my family, you do too. You don’t have to LOVE cooking to make some of these simple recipes I put on my website. I know each of you have to eat everyday (unless you are a freak of nature and you can go days without eating), so why not save yourself some money and make something at home?!

Here are the step-by-step instructions with photos. The full recipes and instructions can be found at the bottom.

Place pork tenderloins in bottom of crockpot



Pour rootbeer over the top of the tenderloins until they are covered. Place lid on crockpot and cook on low for 8 hours.



Remove tenderloins from crockpot and shred using 2 forks. Pour out the rootbeer that is in the crockpot and return the shredded pork to the crockpot. Pour barbeque sauce over the meat and stir. Turn the heat to high and heat until the pulled pork is rewarmed.



Serve on a bun and store leftovers in the refrigerator for up to 1 week or 2 months in the freezer.



Crockpot Rootbeer Pulled Pork

2- pork tenderloins
1- 2 liter bottle of rootbeer (any kind)
1- 18 ounce bottle of Barbeque sauce (I used Sweet Baby Ray’s because it’s GF)
Hamburger buns

Directions:

Place pork tenderloins in bottom of crockpot. Pour rootbeer over the top of the tenderloins until they are covered. Place lid on crockpot and cook on low for 8 hours.

Remove tenderloins from crockpot and shred using 2 forks. Pour out the rootbeer that is in the crockpot and return the shredded pork to the crockpot. Pour barbeque sauce over the meat and stir. Use more or less sauce based on your taste preference. Turn the heat to high and heat until the pulled pork is rewarmed. Serve on a bun and store leftovers in the refrigerator for up to 1 week or 2 months in the freezer.

p.s. – I have to give my mom and dad a HUGE thank-you for putting links to my website on their Facebook pages. It has really helped to attract some great readers. Love you both! I have several other friends that have reposted as well and I love them too. Thanks everyone!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane Quitmeyer (@reversexpert)
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 16:12:26

    Ok Cheri – while the title referring to my bad cooking and captures attention – give me some credit – do you remember the beautiful cakes I used to decorate? How about my stint int he journal for my famous porcupine meatballs in my gourmet kitchen!!!! Alas, you are right about cooking never being a passion of mine, it’s always been just another one of those mundane things I HAD to do.I’m so happy and proud that you’ve found something you’re passionate about. Life is so much better if you are able to live out your passions. I know because I do it everyday!!!
    Love ya and congratulations on your dedication to your blog!

    Reply

    • busycookinthelou
      Sep 16, 2011 @ 16:40:06

      Yes, you are very creative with cakes. You like to decorate and I like to bake. I’m terrible at decorating! We might be successful if we opened a bakery, but that won’t make me the money I need so I can move to the beach! Why couldn’t I have invited the Ipod!?

      Reply

  2. Diane Quitmeyer (@reversexpert)
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 04:23:45

    Did you mean invented? – it took me a minute!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

