Wanderlust Pizza – A food truck review

Working in a major city has its benefits. Although, when you work for a large company that isn’t in the heart of downtown, the benefits don’t exist anymore. We may as well be located in a cornfield. There isn’t anything within walking distance, and the one restaurant that was within walking distance, closed last month after being in business for almost 100 years. It was sad to see them go, but owning and running a restaurant is far more work than most people appreciate.

Over the past 12 months, a new phenomenon has started in our downtown area. It’s the “Food Truck Phenomenon” as I like to call it. One of the first food trucks that I tried was Cha Cha Chow, and they were a nice alternative to our boring, cafeteria food. The next truck to come around was Pi Pizza. If you haven’t been to Pi Pizza (a local St. Louis restaurant), you really should try it. They have all different kinds of pizza, including gluten-free, and they don’t use Provel cheese (a local St. Louis cheese). The menu for their pizza truck is limited, but they have their best ones. This is one of my favorites. There are several others that I have tried including Shell’s Coastal Cuisine (try the shrimp tacos and sweet potato chips), The Sweet Divine (try the Drunken Pig cupcake), and Sarah’s Cake Stop. Yes, that’s right, cupcakes from a truck right outside my office. I think they are sponsored by the Weight Watchers group because membership was declining.

There are 2 other trucks that I haven’t tried, one because nothing appealed to me (Mangia), and the other because I’ve never had a Falafel (Falafelwich) and my co-worker referred to it as “Fal-Awful.” Maybe they have good food, but I’m not willing to waste my lunch money on something I’m not even curious to try.


So, today’s truck is Wanderlust Pizza. This is the most creative idea I have seen yet. This rolling kitchen is not actually a “truck,” but it’s an Airstream camper that has been converted into a kitchen. The craziest part, they actually have a wood-fire stove to bake the pizzas. I bet their insurance is high!

Not only are their pizzas really good, but they have the best names ever. The pizza I had today was called Meat meet Meat. It totally explains what this pizza is all about….MEAT! It’s fantastic.



The one pizza that I refused to try was “The Stinky Tinkle.” Can you guess what was on it? Drumroll please…..asparagus. I laughed and laughed when I read that. It was even funnier to hear people order it. Others have told me that they really like this pizza, but you will have to wait until next year to get it because asparagus season has ended.

If you ever see any of these places parked somewhere, give them a try. They are all really great people that have fun with their trucks. I know I’m glad that they exist, because our cafeteria food is worse then what we had in grade school!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tyra
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 18:30:50

    I must not be hanging out in the right places…I have never seen any of these!

    Reply

    • busycookinthelou
      Sep 15, 2011 @ 19:25:42

      They are only in downtown, midtown and Central West End. But they have special “Food Truck” events on the weekends where you can find all of them in once place. You can also hire the cupcake trucks to come to parties at your house to bring sweets. I want to try that some time!

      Reply

  2. Diane Quitmeyer (@reversexpert)
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 22:41:38

    I enjoyed this post – I always seen those trucks and thought YUK!!! So who went out of business, Sybergs? Can’t you go to Union Station’s food court – that isn’t very far.

    Reply

    • busycookinthelou
      Sep 15, 2011 @ 23:10:23

      Beffa’s went out of business. Union Station doesn’t have much to offer, and it isn’t real close. The closest places are Sybergs and Pappy’s. But I love the food trucks because they are right outside of our building, and usually there are multiple trucks on one day. It’s great!

      Reply

  3. Natalie Von Till
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 15:58:38

    never heard of food trucks! freaking awesome, wish i worked downtown!!

    wanderlust pizza. bizarre name!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

