Chocolate Chip Cookies – Some things don’t have to be complicated.



I have been baking for several years now, and I have tried several different chocolate chip cookie recipes.  I must admit, I shy away from overly simple recipes because I’m afraid that they won’t be great. I don’t like to bake things that aren’t great, and the fancy cookie recipes that I have tried have been mediocre at best.  There are actually recipes out there that take multiple days to prepare.  That’s just ridiculous! 

A few months ago, my kids requested chocolate chip cookies.  I thought, great, another 4 hours of my life wasted on a crappy cookie recipe.  I started pulling out all of the ingredients and noticed the cookie recipe on the back of the chocolate chip package.  Hmmmm, I can’t imagine that they would put a “bad” recipe on the back of a chocolate chip package…would they? I decided to give it a try.

Preparing these cookies was so easy that I questioned how good they would be.  When they finally came out of the oven and cooled to a point where they wouldn’t burn my mouth (note: although cookies should be cooled completely before being eaten, no one I can never wait this long), I tried one.  They were, hands down, the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever made.  Who knew? 

I am posting the recipe below, but you can find this same recipe on the back of any chocolate chip package.  Make them and then go to the gym because you will be eating most of them on the first day. 


Chocolate Chip Cookies
From: Toll House Chocolate Chip package

Ingredients:

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup butter or margarine, softened
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1 (12 ounce) package NESTLE® TOLL HOUSE® Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels
1 cup chopped nuts

Directions:

PREHEAT oven to 375 degrees F.

COMBINE flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in morsels and nuts. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets.

BAKE for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darell
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 17:32:48

    they look very very good,I think I can smell them.Good receipt.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

