Mini Apple Pie to Start off Apple Season


I love it when my children give me projects, especially when they are baking projects. My son asked me to make brownies for his teachers, and I couldn’t say no. Do I ever say “no” to baking? I must admit that brownies are not my favorite thing to bake because it’s not very challenging, but almost everyone likes them. I really prefer the corners, myself, and I might even snatch one right out of your hand if you take one while I’m not looking. Thank goodness that my children will eat any of the brownies, because they know better than to eat the corners. I have another friend that really likes the corners as well, and he and I would probably duke it out over the last corner if we had to!

So my son and I made brownies last night. In fact, we used the same recipe that I posted last week. He did a lot of the measuring and mixing himself and really enjoyed it. I’m somewhat of a control freak in the kitchen, so it’s really tough for me to hand over the reins to someone else. But he did a really good job.

After we had finished the brownies, he decided that he wanted to bake something else. And, he wanted to do it on his own. He wanted something easy enough that he wouldn’t need my assistance, so I told him to look on various websites to find something that interested him. I sat down with him and we started looking through Foodgawker. His eyes were drawn to a picture of mini apples pies. They looked really good! I didn’t even need to look at the recipe because I already knew what we were going to do. I had an extra pie crust in the refrigerator and plenty of apples. The plan was to use my normal, special apple pie recipe and just make it in a mini version. We were both so excited to get started! Unfortunately, this baking project was a little more than he could handle by himself, but we tackled it together. It was a really fun time that I will never forget.

These are not tough to make, as long as you have the premade pie crusts. You can fill this with any apple pie filling (a can or your own recipe). The end result was spectacular. They were so cute and the taste was just like an apple pie, but could be eaten in only a few bites. This recipe only makes about 5 mini pies, so it would be perfect if you are having a craving for apple pie but don’t want a whole pie. I could eat a whole apple pie, so it’s a better idea for me to have these sitting around then the entire pie.

So, grab a tub of ice cream or a can of whipped cream and make these soon. Hopefully you can control yourself and not eat the entire batch in one sitting. Once you smell them, it’s going to be tough!





Cheri’s Mini Apple Pies
By: busycookinthelou
Yields: 5 mini pies

Ingredients:

1 large apple (granny smith or fuji) – peeled, cored, chopped in small pieces
2-1/2 tbsp butter
1 tbsp. + 2 tsp. flour
2-1/2 tbsp granulated white sugar
2-1/2 tbsp light brown sugar
1-1/2 tbsp water
1 pre-made pie crust
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
Milk and sugar for sprinkling crust

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Peel, core and slice apple and set aside.

Melt butter in a sauce pan or low/med heat. Stir in flour to form a paste. Add white sugar, brown sugar and water; bring to a boil. Reduce temperature, and simmer 1 minute.

Unroll the pie crust. Find 2 different sized cups that can be used to cut out the bottom and top crust pieces. I used a cup that had a 4” diameter for the bottom crust and a cup with a 3” diameter for the top crust. Place the bottom crust piece into a cupcake pan to form the pie shape. Gently remove from cupcake pan to maintain shape.

Fill with apples, mounded slightly and sprinkle with cinnamon. Gently pour the sugar and butter liquid over the apples ensuring that it sinks in between all of the apples. Cover with a crust, seal the edges and cut slits into it. Brush crust with milk and spread around. Sprinkle with sugar.

Place pies in a cupcake liner and then place them back in the cupcake pan gently to avoid squishing the pies.

Place the pan in the oven. Bake 15 minutes at 425 degrees F (220 degrees C). Reduce the temperature to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C), and continue baking for 20-30 minutes or until the crust is golden brown. Remove from oven and cool. Pies can be removed from pan and placed on cooling rack. They are ready to eat once they have cooled for an hour. They can also be served the next day.



Leave a Reply

