Review: Sombreros Authentic Mexican Cuisine – St. Peters, MO

Our oldest daughter had a volleyball game on Saturday.  After spending Friday evening at a 40th birthday party, “rough,” or “In the Hurt Locker” was an accurate way to describe me on Saturday.  The hubby slept most of the evening on Saturday, and I should have joined him!  But the fun we had on Friday night was totally worth the pain today.  We ended the night with an interesting conversation that was sparked by a question, “What would you do if you won $30 million dollars tomorrow?”  It really provided a great insight into how everyone thinks.  My friends all discovered that I would be like a pro athlete….buy the biggest house, never lift a finger again, buy a Bentley, and do just about every over-the-top thing known to man.  I thought everyone else would want to do the same things.  Yea…not so much.  Oh well, I guess I will be alone on my private island in the Caribbean.  Peace and quiet sounds like a good idea right now.

After the volleyball game, we decided that we should grab some Mexican food.  The hubby likes Mexican because he can easily get gluten-free food, and my daughter likes it because she can get her favorite food…tacos.  You have a mom that loves to cook and your favorite food is a taco?!  I may have to give her up for adoption.

We stopped at this place in St. Peters, Missouri called Sombreros Authentic Mexican Cuisine and Sports Saloon.  This appears to be a newer place, and the signage was really nice and fresh.  It is in a decent location, so I would assume that they would get a fair amount of patrons.

We walked in and were seated and given chips and salsa immediately. The chips were decent as was the salsa. Nothing special, but we ate the entire basket in about 5 minutes. Now, if you were at any other Mexican restaurant, you would have another basket of chips as soon as the last crumb was eaten. But not here. There were no extra chips for us. In fact, I’m pretty sure that they forgot we were there. My daughter and I went to use the restroom and discovered that this place can’t seem to make up their mind on which type of soap dispenser that they want to use. While I was in the stall, I could hear her saying…”which dispenser should I use.” She found them all to be empty. I’m wondering how the staff washes their hands. Once I joined her at the sink, I discovered that there were soap dispensers attached to the sinks, both of which were empty. Then I saw that there was a free standing, decorative soap dispenser sitting between the 2 sinks. I thought, AH HA…this must be where the soap is. No dice, that one was empty as well. Just when I was about to give up, I found the 4th soap dispenser attached to the wall and decided to give that one a try. Finally, we had discovered soap. Thank goodness!

After the 5 minute fiasco in the bathroom, I figured that we would have fresh drinks and chips when we got back to the table. Yep, wrong again. There was nothing. About 20 minutes after we ordered, the waitress come over and said that they were waiting on my husband’s fajitas. I’m not sure what that meant considering he and I both ordered fajitas. We were finally able to ask her (because she came back to the table for the first time since we ordered) for some more chips. My husband also requested more water.


The waitress came back again, but this time she brought our food. Halleluah…it has been almost 30 minutes and we are starving. The hubby has to have corn tortillas and I requested flour. We opened them up while the waitress was there just to ensure that they had given us the correct tortillas. Shocker, they had given us both corn tortillas, AND they were all broken in half and dried out. Yummy! We sent them back; it would be tough to eat fajitas with tortillas that were broken in half.

After about 5 minutes she came back to the table with my flour tortillas and Paul’s corn tortillas. She dashed away without checking the tortillas (wrapped in foil) herself or waiting for us to check them. The picture below shows what she brought for Paul.



I’m not sure what is all over the tortillas, but it was GROSS and broken. I would assume that the corn tortillas were dried out and they covered it in oil in hopes of softening it. It was awful. Paul pushed them to the side and ate the tortilla filling and beans/rice without a tortilla. The worst part is that the waitress did eventually come back and saw the tortillas sitting there broken and greasy, she immediately turned red and then turned around and left. She never once asked if everything was ok nor did she offer to get us any additional drinks. There was a guy that was walking around the restaurant, I assume he was a busser, he finally asked if we wanted something else to drink.

The waitress came back and asked if we needed anything else. We asked for the check. She picked up some of the dirty plates and completely ignored the broken tortillas. She knew that the situation was not good. While we were waiting for our check I took the picture below:

I'm thinking that this isn't supposed to be left on as decoration.



It’s sad to know that someone put their money into this place. Where is a manager or the owner? Why is there a sugar caddy on my table that is dirty and still has a price tag on it? Details, details, details. If I hadn’t been sitting at that table for way to long, I never would have noticed the tag. If the waitress had checked the tortillas before bringing them out, she would have discovered that they were bad. If someone checked the bathrooms more often, they wouldn’t have 3 empty soap dispensers. This restaurant has so much potential. The food that I had was just average. It tasted like every other Mexican restaurant. But, the restaurant itself is a very nice place. The setting is nice, and it is really big. The hubby has said that he will never go back to this place. I probably wouldn’t either.

Have you ever experienced something like this? What did you do to make the situation better, or did you simply avoid going back?

image

image

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Ablen
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 17:48:52

    We had a terrible experience as well. We asked to sit outside and we waited 20 minutes and no one came by with chips or to ask if we wanted a drink. We got up to leave and I stopped at the hostess counter and told them that while we had wanted to stay and try them out no one had been by to see us for 20 minutes. I just received a dumbfounded look from her. No offer to get the manager or correct the situation. Told them we were going to Vettes. I sent the owner a message on Facebook and never received a response. Drove by yesterday and they were packed and thought we might give it another try but wanted to look at their menu first and couldn’t find it anywhere. Their Facebook page is gone and the website isn’t accessible. I won’t be wasting my time. Thanks for your input!

    Reply

  2. Kevin
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 07:01:51

    How do you accuse employees of not washing their hands in this article when you eventually found the soap? That is not responsible writing. I am sure the place needs a LOT of work because all of the reviews would indicate this. But be careful what you write.

    Reply

    • busycookinthelou
      Oct 05, 2011 @ 07:17:29

      If you read the entire story, it was written as an exact play -by-play of what I was seeing and thinking. I never accused them of NOT washing their hands, and I have no reason to believe that they don’t. If the owners and staff had filled the other 3 dispensers, that thought would have never crossed my mind. I hope this provides you some clarification.

      Reply

  3. Krista
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 16:40:15

    If I were you. I would have politely talked to the restaurant floor manager instead about your experience. Obviously you write this blog adhering to your experiences and I appreciate honesty. The thing I do not get is that you did nothing to try to help a brand new restaurant out as you have extensive knowledge in the restaurant business. I would have more respect for your article if you did more than frequent a restaurant one time. I would also think you would try to help out a local business by reporting the problems. How are they ever going to get fixed if no one says anything to management.

    Reply

    • busycookinthelou
      Oct 31, 2011 @ 17:09:02

      I am certain that the management at this restaurant is fully aware of what happened to me. I have written other reviews and management from those places have contacted me. I realize that my review was written at a time when the restaurant was only open for a few weeks, but that doesn’t exempt them from at least providing decent service and food. I say “decent” because I am not hard to please. I am hoping that the management at Sombrero’s has made some good changes and they have many happy customers. Sure, I wish we had contacted management at the time, but we felt so ignored and frustrated that we just wanted to get home. Hopefully you give them a try and form your own opinion. Thanks for stopping by my site.

      Reply

      • Krista
        Nov 01, 2011 @ 16:46:49

        I have tried the restaurant several times and to clarify, the night you went there was the 2nd night open. I found that my first visit was to be desired but gave it a go again and was very impressed! It bacame obvious that giving Sombrero’s a second chance was a great idea! You should go back again and see what a great place it has turned into!

  4. Me
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 11:12:03

    I was surprised on my first visit that it did take quite a long time to get any service and even then my order was messed up. Fine, new restaurant, new servers. Then a bartender and server, at different times were walking around wtih the same order of drinks trying to find out who ordered them. Since no one spoke up and we needed drinks replenished, so we took these small drinks. 2 entrees, 4 drinks, and our bill was $60. We were floored. We are going to try it again tomorrow, Valentine’s day, but if it sucks again, the manager needs to know and not hear it from a blog they will probably never read.

    I agree with whomever said that you should have notified the restaurant manager, as a common courtesy since you are in the business.

    Reply

  5. Tim
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 08:36:04

    As one of the owners of Sombreros, we have worked very hard to fix the issues we found as we opened back in September 2011. After the first 2 weeks we replaced everyone in the back of house. This was not easy but needed to be done, since then we have thousands of very happy customers that come in 2,3,4 or 5 times a week!
    Thank all of you critics “good and bad” we continue to try to please everyone, I am Tim Maxvill, please call on me when you come in as I like to meet all that visit my restaurant Sombreros. My partners and I work very hard to ensure everyone has a great time, and will continue to do so, thank you Tim

    Reply

  6. Lynn
    May 24, 2012 @ 17:22:52

    I have been a customer of Sombrero’s for over a year now. Since the first time I walked in the door, I was greeted by the bar manager Scott with a smile and felt very welcome. He made drink and dinner suggestions that were fantastic!! I live close by the resturant, so I frequent there at least 3 times a week now. My son does as well. I have never had a bad meal nor bad service. I feel like family there and the owners and staff never fail to welcome me or anyone who visits with me. I strongly recommend anyone who has had a negative experience to give it a second try, I promise you won’t be disappointed.

    Reply

  7. erin
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 10:10:15

    I took my family to dinner there last night we sat at 7:30 and wasn’t served our food until 9:10 the waitress we had was rude and when I spoke with her over our food order being wrong she yelled at me I have never been to this place and will never go back. When I asked to speak with a manager there wasn’t even one in the building to speak with it was awful and embarrassing to have the server scream at me infront of my entire family -Erin

    Reply

  8. Amanda Crafford
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 14:52:40

    I love this place and go there quite often! The service has always been friendly and fast. The staff have been on top of their tables and doing a good job every time that I have been there even at happy hour when the place was packed. I went on Cinco de Mayo this year and had wonderful food and entertainment.

    Reply

  9. DJK
    Oct 14, 2012 @ 13:59:16

    My husband and I and another couple tried the restaurant for the first time last night. We Will Not Go Back! The food was absolutely terrible! The worst Mexican food we have ever had. The service was OK, a little slow, but the food tasted like it had been made earlier, frozen, and then reheated. The food was so bad (slimy wet tortillas, burnt dried out beef in tacos, tacos only came with meat and lettuce, tiny little taco shells, tacos did not come as ordered with cheese and tomatoes and no ones food tasted very good). All four of us only took a few bites of food and did not finish our plates. We certainly did not want doggy bags. When leaving the tricky soap dispenser, sewer gas smelling, womens bathroom, I encountered another lady that said they would not come back either because the food was bad. As we were leaving they started in with music, but not Mexican music. When in a Mexican restaurant, one expects Mexican music. If we wanted to go to a nightclub, we would have done just that. Upon exiting, we all wondered if we were going to get sick later from the few bites of food that we had eaten. What a Shame, a very cute restaurant, but terrible food. We will Not Go Back there, and . . . We Will Spread the Word.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

