Tomato Soup Doesn’t Have to Come from a Can



I knew as soon as the hubby and I started talking about what to make for dinner, it would consume the rest of my evening. I was praying that he would suggest something really easy. All of a sudden he says, “Cannelloni.” Have YOU ever tried to make cannelloni? Wow, it’s a real PITA! I’m not kidding. Do you realize there are like 3 different kinds of meats in authentic cannelloni? Also, my husband has to eat gluten-free, so that adds another layer to the complication. Of course I said, “ok.” But, to my surprise, he changed his mind…thank goodness! He said, “You know what sounds really good…tomato soup and grilled cheese.” Of course I can’t just heat up tomato soup from a can. Not to mention, the gluten free soups kinda suck! They have gotten better over the years, but they certainly don’t replace homemade versions.

I went on a recipe hunt to find the perfect tomato soup recipe. I knew what I wanted, but I wasn’t finding it. Then I thought, why do I need a recipe? I’ve made this before and I know how to do it. Let’s just try it without a recipe. The end result was really good. I was so happy with my soup that I kinda thought it was the best soup I had ever made. If you have never made homemade tomato soup, try it. It isn’t hard and tastes so fresh and good. We will only be able to get yummy, fresh tomatoes for a few more weeks, so make some soon!

I am going to include the pictures of each step in the process with the recipe and combined instructions found below. Enjoy!

Step 1 - Add onions and celery to melted butter



Steps 2 and 3 - Add garlic and then add tomatoes, broth, etc.



Step 4 - Puree soup until smooth



Steps 5 and 6 - Use mesh strainer to remove chucks, return to pot and add cream



Make your grilled cheese, this is what we used.



Time to eat!



Fresh Tomato Soup
Recipe by: Busycookinthelou

Ingredients:
2-1/2 tbsp. butter
1/2 diced yellow onion (about 1 cup)
1/2 cup celery – chopped
3 tsp. garlic
2 tsp. oregano
3 tbsp. flour (gluten free or regular)
2 tsp. granulated sugar
1 bay leaf
4 fresh tomatoes – chopped
3 cups chicken broth
1/3 cup heavy cream (optional)

Melt butter in stock pot over medium heat. Add onion and garlic and saute until soft (3-5 minutes). Add garlic and oregano and saute, stirring constantly, until garlic becomes fragrant (about 1 minute). Sprinkle flour over mixture and stir until it is fully combined and no lumps of flour are visible. Add oregano, sugar, bay leaf, tomatoes, and chicken broth and stir to combine. Reduce heat to low and allow soup to simmer for 45 minutes to 1 hour.

Scoop soup into a food processor or blender (in about 4 batches) to remove the lumps. I also ran the soup through a fine, mesh strainer to ensure that there were NO lumps. Once all of the soup has been pureed and run through the strainer, place back into the pot and add in the cream. The cream makes this soup very rich, so you can leave it out and the soup is still amazing.

Slowly warm the soup over low heat, stirring frequently, and serve once fully warmed. Enjoy with your favorite grilled cheese sandwich.

Leave a Reply

