Sweet Potatoes aren’t Just for Thanksgiving – Make Sweet Potato Fries!



I always thought that sweet potatoes were somewhat gross. They were something that was served at Thanksgiving and would come straight from a can and then topped with marshmallows that were often burnt. I’m certain that I tried them a few times when I was little because…what child doesn’t like marshmallows? Well, apparently this kid didn’t like them on top of canned sweet potatoes.

I survived the better part of my childhood, teenage years and over 10 years into adulthood, before I decided to try sweet potatoes again. If you live in St. Louis, you have probably heard of Pappy’s Smokehouse. If you haven’t heard of them, it’s time to crawl out from underneath that rock you have been living under. If you have heard of Pappy’s and haven’t been there, go there ASAP. You are missing out on some of the best BBQ you will ever eat. If you have eaten at Pappy’s Smokehouse, then you already know what I’m talking about and are probably headed there for lunch right now.

Pappy’s serves these amazing little things called “Sweet Potato Fries.” I refused to try them the first couple of times that I went to Pappy’s. I would watch in disgust as my coworkers would eat them in front of me. I probably even commented about how gross they were. So sad that I passed on the opportunity to taste something so great all because of my close-mindedness to try new things. FAIL on my part! Oh well, at some point I tried one and thought “What the HECK have I been thinking!” These things are really, really good. I have no idea how they are prepared, and they don’t look very pretty either. But they are amazing!

These sweet potato fries were my inspiration to try making them at home. I have made them twice now, and the first time they turned out really good. The second time they just didn’t come out great. They tasted ok, but they weren’t crispy like the first batch. I have to admit that I used a new, gigantic cookie sheet that someone had given me, and it really didn’t work out well for me. This cookie sheet was so big that the person that gave it to me confessed that she let her children sled down a snowy hill on them. Hmmmm, sounds a little unsafe. I hope it worked better for sledding then it did for my fries!

The baking sheet/sled. It is as big as my oven rack.



Either way, sweet potato fries are really good. Be careful which baking sheet you use and really keep an eye on them because they tend to burn quicker than regular potatoes. They go really well with cheeseburgers, turkey burgers, chicken sandwiches, pulled pork sandwiches, and Ketchup. The hubby thinks that french fries (or sweet potato fries), are just a platform with which to eat ketchup. You can tell where his preference lies! Let me know if you decide to make them and how they turn out. I would be happy to come over and sample them when they’re done!

Sweet potatoes are not attractive, but, to make up for it, they taste good.



Baked Sweet Potato Fries
by: busycookinthelou

Ingredients:

3 sweet potatoes cut into sticks or wedges
1-1/2 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp coarse sea salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Slice sweet potatoes into sticks or wedges. HINTS: Cut off the odd shaped ends if you want a more consistent shape. If you want to prepare ahead of time, place sliced potatoes into a bowl of water.

Place in bowl and toss with olive oil. Spread potatoes on baking sheet, making sure that they are in 1 layer and not overlapping.

Sprinkle with brown sugar and salt and place in oven.

Bake for 20 minutes and then flip them over. Bake another 10-20 minutes until crisp.


1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. dianequitmeyer
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 19:46:47

    I love sweet potatoes!!!!! YUM!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

