Easy and Fast…How I Like My Brownies



The hubby and I were invited to a 40th birthday party on Friday night. As I was driving home from work I called the person hosting the party and I asked if I should bring something. She told me the menu and then said that I didn’t need to bring anything. Ok, so I shouldn’t have asked the question. I should have said, “I’m going to bring something.” I can’t just show up at a party an NOT bring something, especially a birthday party. Any time that I get the chance to have people try out recipes, I take it. I knew that the host wouldn’t mind, and I didn’t have time to bring anything too fancy, so I knew that I wouldn’t steal the spotlight away from her wonderful spread. She made an awesome brisket, and I’m going to have to steal her recipe to post on my blog.


While I sat in traffic for 90 minutes trying to get home from work, I pondered what I was going to bring. I had about 30 minutes to throw something together, prep AND cooking time. I thought about cookies, a bundt cake, something made with pudding….and then it hit me. BROWNIES. Everyone loves brownies and they are so quick and easy to make from scratch. I already knew which recipe I planned to use, so it was easy for me to whip them up and have them in the oven in less than 10 minutes.

There are several sad parts of this story. The first sad part is that my kids could smell the brownies and they were so excited. I hated to tell them that they were for the party. But I promised them I would bring home the leftovers. The second sad part is that I took pictures of the brownies while they were still in the pan because they were too hot to cut when we left home. I brought the camera to the party with the intention of taking pictures of a cut brownie later in the evening. Well, all I can say is that the kids didn’t get any brownies and I didn’t get any pictures. Apparently the brownies were a big hit, because they were gone in an hour, and I even caught one of my friends scooping up the crumbs and eating them right out of the pan.


This is one of my favorite brownie recipes of all time. I have tried a lot of them, but I always go right back to this one. The only modifications that I made to the original was adding in chocolate chips and excluding the nuts. If you have all of the ingredients, you could be eating brownies in 45 minutes from RIGHT NOW. Ready, set, go!

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies
From: Allrecipes.com
Printable Recipe

Ingredients:

1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 9×9 inch baking pan.

In a medium bowl, mix together the oil, sugar, and vanilla. Beat in eggs. Combine flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt; gradually stir into the egg mixture until well blended. Fold in chocolate chips. Spread the batter evenly into the prepared pan.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until the brownie begins to pull away from edges of pan. Let cool on a wire rack before cutting into squares.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Abby McCulley Schneider
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 17:08:41

    This is awesome! I have had many of your creations and look forward to more in the future!!! YUMMY

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Mini Apple Pie to Start off Apple Season « Busy Cook in the Lou
  3. Trackback: Pumpkin Cheesecake Swirl Brownies – Great Halloween Party Dessert Idea « The Accidental Cook

Leave a Reply

