Crockpots Rock! Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe

Anyone that knows me, knows that I am in love with my crockpot. I am more in love with my Kitchen Aid mixer, which I got for FREE, but the crockpot is a close second. A crockpot is a must-have for a working mother. Heck, it’s a must-have for anyone that doesn’t want to spend hours in the kitchen preparing dinner just so the family can scarf it down in 10 minutes and go on to their respective sports or video games.

Cooking dinner is often a thankless job. I ask the children what they want for dinner (BIG MISTAKE), and invariably they say either tacos or pizza. The creative cook that I am really hates this answer. I don’t like to eat the same things over and over, and I really don’t like to cook the same things over and over. There are very few recipes that I will make more than once. The recipe that I am posting today is one that I have made several times. Granted, I have always put it in the crockpot for us to eat after we get off the lake, so, without an alcohol-impaired sense of taste, it may taste like dirt.

I like this recipe because it is something different. Most crockpot recipes call for some type of meat that soaks in some type of broth all day, and you eventually serve it sliced or on buns. This recipe is for slow-cooker Jambalaya. My husband loves Jambalaya, and once I tasted this recipe, I love it too. I slice and dice all of the ingredients ahead of time, so I just dump it all into the crockpot in the morning without having to sit there and chop up vegetables. I even cheat and buy the pre-sliced onions and celery that can be found in the produce section of the grocery store. The best part of this recipe is that it’s very versatile. You can omit or add ingredients that you prefer…within reason….I’m certain that you can’t add grapefruit slices to this and have them taste good. Special note to my mom and my father-in-law – Do NOT try this, I promise it will not taste good!

If you want an easy and quick dinner, try this. Do all of your prep the night before and dump it in the next day. Your family will thank you, and YOU will be able to move on to your respective activities such as watching The Real Housewives or The Jersey Shore….admit it, you watch them!

(I don’t have any pictures yet, but will have some after this weekend)

Slow Cooker Jambalaya
Adapted from: Allrecipes.com
Ingredients:

1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast halves – cut into 1 inch cubes
1 pound andouille sausage, sliced (use a mixture of sausages of you don’t want it too spicy)
1 (28 ounce) can diced tomatoes, drained
1 large yellow onion, chopped
1 large yellow or red bell pepper, chopped
1 cup chopped celery
1 cup chicken broth
2 teaspoons dried oregano
2 teaspoons dried parsley
2 teaspoons cajun seasoning
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1 pound frozen cooked shrimp without tails
2 cups of instant rice

Directions:

In a slow cooker, mix the chicken, sausage, tomatoes, onion, bell pepper, celery, and broth. Season with oregano, parsley, cajun seasoning, cayenne pepper, and thyme.

Cover, and cook 7 to 8 hours on Low, or 3 to 4 hours on High. Stir in the shrimp and rice during the last 30 minutes of cook time.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Zena Barnett
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 16:41:40

    Great recipe, i’ll give it a try with my girl this evening. Hope i get it right! Cheers

    Reply

Leave a Reply

