Blueberry Muffin Recipe – Blueberries with a Purpose

I have never understood something about blueberries. For me, blueberries have zero appeal outside of a baked good. I have never found them to taste good when they are raw. My husband seems to enjoy them raw. I think he ate an entire container of them in one day. If I want to use them in a recipe, I have to use them immediately or my family will eat them and my recipe will be short on blueberries. Again, I don’t understand why they like these raw and boring pieces of fruit, but I’m not going to question them about it because I know that they are really good for you.

Now, once you put these little, tasteless berries into a baked good, they turn into one of the most delightful treats on the planet. I love them in scones, muffins, pancakes, and cupcakes, and I think that most people like them that way too.

If there is any baking that needs to be done, most people know that I am the first dummy person to raise my hand. I just love to spend 5 hours in my kitchen baking up something wonderful. No, really I do. It sounds crazy, but the most relaxing part of my day is spending time in my kitchen baking. So when my coworker asked me to bring a baked good for our United Way fundraiser, I jumped at the opportunity. My baking-obsessed mind moved right towards a recipe that I have made several times. It is a blueberry muffin that adds a secret ingredient – lemon zest – and has a delicious streusel topping. This was one of the first muffins I ever made, and it was a huge hit with my coworkers.

If you are ever asked to prepare a breakfast, baked item, I highly recommend this one. It’s easy and tastes like it took days to prepare. These muffins were gone in less than 30 minutes, and people kept asking if I had more. We were able to raise $70 for United Way, and I’m glad that I was able to participate.


Blueberry Muffins
Yields 12 muffins

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup white sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/4 tsp lemon zest
1/3 cup buttermilk (regular milk works or make buttermilk by adding a tsp of vinegar to the 1/3 cup of milk and letting stand for 5 minutes before using)
1 cup fresh blueberries

Streusel Topping:

1/2 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup butter, cubed
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Grease muffin cups or line with muffin liners.

Combine 1 1/2 cups flour, 3/4 cup sugar, salt and baking powder. In a separate bowl, mix vegetable oil, egg, vanilla, lemon zest and buttermilk. Add this to the flour mixture, mixing just until incorporated. Fold in blueberries. Fill muffin cups right to the top.

To Make Crumb Topping: Mix together 1/2 cup sugar, 1/3 cup flour, and 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon. Cut in the ¼ cup butter using a pastry blender, pizza wheel or food processor until the mixture resembles coarse meal. Sprinkle over muffins before baking.

Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool in pans on wire rack.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Pumpkin Scone Recipe – Just like Starbucks and super easy to make « The Accidental Cook

Leave a Reply

