Peach Cobbler Recipe – Gluten Free…Just Peachy!



This time of year I always seem to see recipes that involve peaches. I tend to shy away from peaches because I can’t handle the fuzzy, scratchy skin. It reminds me of those awful wooden sticks and spoons that seem to go along with popsicles and little cups of ice cream. As I’m writing this, it just dawned on me why I probably stayed away from ice cream and popsicles for years…I hate the wooden sticks and spoons that I always associated with them. Why can’t everything be plastic? Those of you that have a strong aversion to these disgusting creations know exactly what I’m talking about. We should form a support group.

Back to the peaches – we went to Raging Rivers in Grafton, Illinois this past weekend. My husband, the kids and my parents all joined us. As we were driving, my dad mentioned that he had purchased some peaches and that they were going bad. I hate to hear this, because when fruit is going bad in my house, it either gets cooked or gets frozen. I use it as an excuse to bake something! I could visualize that warm peach cobbler with vanilla ice cream melting over the top of it. As a side note, the only time I crave ice cream is when I have a warm piece of apple pie or a warm piece of cobbler.

If you have ever been to Grafton, you know that there are many places to buy fresh peaches and apples, and I really wanted to get a bag full of peaches and make something. I mentioned that we needed to stop to get some peaches on our way home.

We spent the rest of the day at the waterpark. If you ever plan to go to Raging Rivers in Grafton, be prepared! The $20 pricetag on the waterpark admission is only a start to how much this little adventure will cost you. It is $5 to park, $5 to rent an inner tube, and a whopping $10 to rent a locker, although you get $5 back when you return the key. A bottle of water will cost you $3 each. If you add it all up, we spent an incredible amount of money. I’m not telling you this to keep you away, but you should be prepared to skip the electric bill this month if you don’t plan properly.

Because the food was so expensive, my dad decided that he needed to go outside the park to eat. He had his sights set on a fish sandwich. He doesn’t really like the waterpark anyway, so it was a good excuse to be able to leave. When we were done at the waterpark, we met him in the parking lot to leave and he surprised me with a big bag of peaches. I was so excited! The whole way home I researched recipes searching for the perfect peach ice cream recipe. How did I get back to ice cream…I don’t even really like the stuff! After an hour of searching, I gave up and moved on to peach cobbler. I found an amazing recipe on AllRecipes.com that received great reviews, so I decided to make it on Monday night.

This is another simple recipe that is really, really good. It is easily made gluten-free by using a GF flour mix. I used this one for my husband’s cobbler, and I used regular flour for the cobbler that the rest of the family ate. Although, I almost killed my husband because I forgot to use gluten free flour at first and had to improvise at the last minute. Either way, if I had served him the glutinous flour, he would have been sick, and had I not made him his own peach cobbler he would have been pretty upset considering I sent him to the store to get the ice cream. He spends a lot of time watching us eat these wonderful desserts that he can’t have, so I wasn’t about to let him miss out on a peach cobbler. Everyone loved this dessert, and I think your family will too. This has been an amazing year for peaches because of the heat. Go out and buy some peaches today before they are all gone.



Peach Cobbler

Adapted from: AEPosey’s Recipe at AllRecipes.com

This is a 2-step cooking process, so read the directions before assembling everything.

Ingredients:

6-8 fresh peaches, peeled, pitted and cut into wedges
1/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
1 tsp lemon juice (fresh or bottled works)
4 tsp cornstarch

1 cup all-purpose flour (sub gluten-free flour, such as this one, if you need to)
1/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, chilled and cut into small pieces
1/4 water

In a small bowl combine:
3 tbsp white sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon

Method:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C).

In a large bowl, combine peaches, 1/4 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, nutmeg, lemon juice, and cornstarch. Toss to coat evenly, and pour into a 9 x 9 baking dish. Bake in preheated oven for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a large bowl, combine flour, 1/4 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, baking powder, and salt. Blend in butter with your fingertips, or a pastry blender, until mixture resembles coarse meal. Stir in water until just combined. NOTE: I put all of these ingredients into a food processor and pulsed until it resembled coarse meal.

Remove peaches from oven, and drop spoonfuls of topping over them. Sprinkle entire cobbler with the sugar and cinnamon mixture. Bake until topping is golden, about 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

